Friday, June 29, 2012

Of State House Press Officers and Press Officers to the President

The first State House Press Officer in Malawi- not only democratic Malawi, officially born in 1994- was Alaudin Osman.The second was Dr.Ken Lipenga, though he served briefly, and was followed by Willie Zingani and Chinduti Chirwa- who were working jointly. All these served under former president, Bakili Muluzi's regime. Then came president Bingu wa Mutharika, who started with the able hands of former broadcaster,Prescot Gonani. After Gonani came Agnes Mizere, who acted as the Public Relations Officer for President Bingu wa Mutharika. Then came Chikumbutso Mtumodzi. The last Press Officer in Mutharika regime, before the visionary leader breathed his last on April 5, 2012, was yet another broadcaster, Albert Mungomo. President Joyce Banda has come with her own team. The Secretary to the President is experienced journalist Steven Nhlane. Then, there are Press Officers to the President. These include former Capital FM's 'News Talk' host Brian Banda, former Sky News editor Tusekere Mwanyongo, and Ruth Govati. But debate rages on: What is the difference between State House Press Officer, Public Relations Officer to the President, and Press Secretary to the President?