Thursday, April 7, 2016

Battle of Giants: Jessie Kabwila versus Patricia Kaliati will rain snakes and frogs
President Peter Mutharika must have had Malawi Congress Party (MCP) spokesperson, Jessie Kabwila, in mind when he shuffled his Cabinet today.
Kabwila, we all know, has been giving the ruling Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) a tough time in both Parliament and the media.
It is as if Kabwila has no match.
Of course, DPP Member of Parliament, Patricia Kaliati, has been there to defend her party and attack Kabwila. So vocal have the two women been that gender activist, Emma Kaliya, has chided men [not the two women] for letting the two women tussle, for days on end.
Kaliya feels that men cheer the two women on, in a bid to present women as too-good-for-nothing and too noisy.
Men, like Kenwilliams Mhango, have, on their part, wondered why women themselves cannot douse the fire, instead of blaming men for watching on and cheering the two women.
To say the truth, Kabwila had no match in Information Minister Jappie Mhango. Mhango was pulled this and that way by Kabwila that Kaliati was the only 'natural' selection.
For beginners, Kaliati is a friendly-at-heart, no nonsense woman. She seems to have all the answers to all the questions. Of course, her responses are often without substance, but she gives reporters something to write about.
Kaliati will, perhaps, be remembered for her comment [as Information Minister] when Malawi severed ties with Taiwan. Apparently, some Taiwanese officials had, predictably, reacted angrily to former president, Bingu wa Mutharika's decision to abandon the Republic of China ship for that of the People's Republic of China.
Taiwan had been Malawi's friend for years, the official opined, to be abandoned in mid air like that.
But Kaliati, the ever more loquacious, had a quick fire response: "What are they complaining about. Is Malawi the only country that benefited from the relationship? Let them [Taiwan] return our frogs and snakes!"
That is Kaliati for you.
Now, with her appointment as government spokesperson, Kabwila has more than a match and Malawians should expect -- not fireworks-- but frogs and snakes to run for cover!
That-- despite the fall of Africulture, Irrigation and Water Development Minister Allan Chiyembekeza-- is the master-piece of Mutharika's cabinet reshuffle.

Republic of Malawi



His Excellency the State President, Professor Arthur Peter Mutharika, in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by Section 94 (1) of the Constitution of the Republic of Malawi, has made some changes to the Cabinet with effect from today, 7th April, 2016.

President of the Republic of Malawi and Minister of Defence: His Excellency Prof. Arthur Peter Mutharika

Vice President of the Republic of Malawi: Right Honourable Dr. Saulos Klaus Chilima

Minister of Finance, Economic Planning and Development: Honourable Goodall Gondwe

Minister of Agriculture, Irrigation and Water Development: Honourable Dr. George Chaponda, M.P.

Minister of Labour, Youth and Manpower Development.: Honourable Henry Mussa, M.P.

Minister of Information and Civic Education: Honourable Patricia Kaliati, M.P.

Minister of Gender, Children, Disability and Social Welfare: Honourable Dr. Jean Kalilani, M.P.

Minister of Local Government and Rural Development: Honourable Kondwani Nankhumwa, M.P.

Minister of Lands, Housing and Urban Development: Honourable Atupele Muluzi, M.P.

Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation: Honourable Francis Kasaila, M.P.

11. Minister of Industry, Trade and Tourism: Honourable Joseph Mwanamvekha, M.P.

12. Minister of Natural Resources, Energy and Mining: Honourable Bright Msaka, SC

13. Minister of Justice and Constitutional Affairs: Honourable Samuel Tembenu, SC

14. Minister of Education, Science and Technology: Honourable Dr Emmanuel Fabiano, M.P.

15. Minister of Home Affairs and Internal Security: Honourable Jappie Mhango, M.P.

16. Minister of Sports and Culture: Honourable Grace Obama Chiumia, M.P.

17. Minister of Health: Honourable Dr Peter Kumpalume, M.P.

18. Minister of Transport and Public Works: Honourable Malison Ndau, M.P.

19. Deputy Minister of Education, Science and Technology: Honourable Vincent Ghambi, M.P.

20. Deputy Minister of Defence: Honourable Agrey Masi, M.P.

George C. Mkondiwa


7TH APRIL, 2016

No comments: